Congressional Gold Medal Ceremony in Honor of Astronauts - jef1000

Jeff Malet Photography

Powered by SmugMug Log In

Space legends John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin and Michael Collins were awarded Congressional Gold Medals, the nation's highest civilian honor, on Wednesday, November 16, 2011. The ceremony was held in the US Capitol Rotunda in Washington DC. In photo, left to right, Michael Collins, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), Neil Armstrong, Speaker John Boehner (R-OH), Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV), John Glenn, Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Buzz Aldrin, Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX) (Photo by Jeff Malet)

spaceexplorationaeronauticsherohonorCapitol Hillmoon landingApolloIMG8977