Congressional Gold Medal Ceremony in Honor of Astronauts - jef1000

Jeff Malet Photography

Powered by SmugMug Log In

Sean O'Keefe attends ceremony where space legends John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin and Michael Collins were awarded Congressional Gold Medals, the nation's highest civilian honor, on Wednesday, November 16, 2011. The ceremony was held in the US Capitol Rotunda in Washington DC. Sean O'Keefe a former Administrator of NASA under President George W Bush. O'Keefe and his teenaged son were among four survivors of a plane crash on August 9, 2010 near Aleknagik, Alaska.O'Keefe sustained serious injuries in the crash of a de Havilland Canada DHC-3 Otter seaplane in which former United States Senator Ted Stevens and four others perished. (Photo by Jeff Malet)

spaceexplorationaeronauticsherohonorCapitol HillMarsshuttleIMG8513